skip to main content skip to main menu

Council Committees
~ Ngā kōmiti kaunihera

committee gavell

Napier Health Services Advocacy Forum

The purpose of the informal forum is to work with the HB District Health Board on the future provision of health services for Napier residents delivered in and/or outside of Napier.

Terms of Reference:

  • To work with the District Health Board and associated committee's for the establishment, maintenance and management of health services:
    • Provided in Napier for the Napier community.
    • Provided outside of Napier for the Napier community.
  • To identify areas of concern and advise the Council to enable the Mayor and Chairman of the Napier Health Services Advocacy Forum to advocate to the District Health Board on behalf of the community.
  • To focus on future delivery of health services to the Napier community and will not be compromised by past experiences of health delivery in Napier.

Forum Composition:

Will comprise of seven members of the public plus two councillors, chosen by the Mayor for their broad knowledge and skills in the health sector and community.

Will be selected by the following process:

  • Public notice - to call for expressions of interest accompanied by a relevant curriculum vitae
  • The Mayor will co-ordinate a selection process, assisted by a health professional, based on a preferred skill/experience mix.
  • Appropriate Hawke's Bay District Health Board personnel will be invited to attend the meetings with speaking rights, but not voting rights (prior to February 2008 this pertained to Napier District Health Board members).

Reporting Structure:

The Forum Chairman will report to the Council as appropriate. Any issues and decisions with financial implications must get Council approval.

The Committee's recommendations must be consistent with the Council's Ten Year Plan

Forum Details

Chairperson (shall not be a councillor) Mr Roger Scott
Deputy Chairperson Leigh White
Officer Responsible Mayor's Office
Forum Secretary NCC - Committee Administrator

Napier City Council

Councillor White
Councillor McGrath
Community Dr Andy Edwards
Dr Hugh Findlay
Audrey Robin
Denise Rouse
Erica Toomey
Leigh White
Meets Informally as required but at least quarterly
Membership (2) Napier City Council
(8) Community
Mayor - ex-officio

Related Documents

Related Pages

There are no pages related to this page.

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Napier City Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Napier City Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Napier City Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the Napier City Council information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Napier City Council - / +64 6 835 7579 / Fax: +64 6 835 7574